Skip to content

Recipe: Cherry Clafoutis with Crust

May 30, 2008

In which cherries, eggs, cream, and sugar become a dessert or brunch to stop the heart.

I made this because I got an abundance of delicious, but a bit tart, cherries in my Eatwell Farm CSA Box on Wednesday. I had a rather cracked spelt pie crust in the freezer, and a bunch of eggs, and some leftover cream, so I thought I’d try to make clafoutis in the crust rather than a traditional cherry filling, which the broken crust couldn’t support. Clafoutis is a French (of course) dessert that is something like a denser soufflé with fruit and sometimes nuts in it.

  • 2 pints cherries, pitted and halved
  • 1 1/2 c. cream (substitute milk if you know what’s good for you; I don’t)
  • 1 c. flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 T brandy (but I used port)
  • 1 t vanilla
  • cinnamon
  • 2 pie crusts (broken optional)

The oven should be at 350F.

First I broke the eggs into a bowl and added half the sugar (1/2 c). I beat the eggs until the sugar melted in. Then I stirred in the port and the vanilla, then added the flour and whisked in the cream slowly until the batter was smooth. Then I stirred in the cherry halves. At this point I realized I had rather more batter than could fit in one pie crust, and I only had the one, so I used the pie crust and a baking dish. I poured the batter into each, sprinkled some cinnamon on top (nutmeg would have been great, but I was too impatient to grate it) and shoved them into the oven. They baked for about 45 minutes. I tested them periodically with a toothpick, which hastened their deflation once they were out of the oven. Like a soufflé or the housing market, the clafoutis will inevitably collapse. Unlike the housing market, however, it is still good, hot or cold. Also tasty for brunch—just don’t make it a daily part of your diet if you’re prone to cardiovascular disease.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

