Skip to content

Back. Not away.

July 26, 2009

I think it’s a common experience for people with blogs that if you go any length of time without blogging it gets much harder to sit down and write a post. So I’ll do a quick update and hopefully get things rolling again for more regular posting.

For the last few weeks I’ve been busy moving. Actually, I’ve been busy thinking about getting ready to plan to start the process of moving. I gave myself a month overlap in order that I wouldn’t have to move all at once, which has led to putting off working on moving until the last couple of weeks, which will lead to moving all at once, no doubt. I’ve been downsizing, but not as quickly as I’d like.

I’ve been keeping an eye on my pickles, and they are done. I can report that the grape leaf in the jar does help keep them crisp, even in the awful fluctuating weather we’ve been having—and the attic room I’m still inhabiting is definitely not the place to maintain an even, cool temperature for pickling. So any crispness at all is a positive sign. The jar without the grape leaf is not in particularly good shape. On the other hand, the pickles themselves are far too salty to eat straight, owing to my brine measurement mishap. They could use a good soaking in plain ice water for about three hours before eating. Ice water will help keep them from going soggy while the excess salt is being soaked out. I did get some mold at the top of the jar after two weeks, but nothing in the brine or on the pickles themselves.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

